Skip to content

Where’s my Gingerbread!

June 30, 2011

I have an HTC Desire Android Smartphone. I love my phone, without I am (cue a cliché) lost!

I was very happy when HTC announced they were bringing out the latest version of Android, Gingerbread 2.3, for my aging, but still competent device. Then HTC decided to get a little bit wobbly

Here’s what happened!

I follow Android Digest on Twitter, to ensure I have the latest information as soon as possible. I’m checking my feed one day, and BOOM!

”HTC have posted some bad news on their HTC UK Facebook Page” saying:

HTC UK FB

This was on the 14th of June. I was very, very annoyed. It also turned out, that lots of other HTC Desire owners were annoyed too… Quite rightly!

HTC’s Facebook page was inundated by HTC Desire owners (me included) with complaints, verbal abuse and promises of switching manufacturer and never returning. Now, whoever thought people power was dead, they were wrong.

On the 16th June, HTC ceded and U-Turned. This appeared on Facebook:

HTC UK FB

Yey! Everybody rejoiced, and called HTC (quietly) brilliant again! They also said this:

HTC UK FB

I am glad that HTC listened, although we haven’t heard about this timeframe yet; but I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.

I’ll do a post as soon as we know anymore, or if a Gingerbread Update happens to plop itself on my unbranded HTC Desire!

Stay tuned!

Follow me on Twitter: @williamclake

Here’s the whole HTC UK Facebook pertaining to the HTC Desire Update

HTC UK FB

From → Android News, Blogs

2 Comments

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 21 September, 2011 08:25 | Mea Culpa
  2. | Mea Culpa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

